More details…

Ten fetters (sannyojana in pali)

Obstacles of our practice to understand higher, if we have only one of the fetters we lack the right view.

  1. Personality belief
  2. Uncertainty about the path
  3. Belief in rites and rituals
  4. Sensuous greed
  5. Ill-will
  6. Greed for fine material existence
  7. Greed for in material existence
  8. Pride
  9. Agitation
  10. Ignorance


In anapanasati sutta the Buddha mentioned ten fetters obstacles of our practice.

We never have time to look back at ourselves. We never have time to judge ourselves.

We are always on rush, we wake up with a planning & go to sleep with planning.

We never live in the present.

We always keep thinking about what we are going to do next or what we have done.


Four Foundation of Mindfulness

In Satpatana sutta, the Buddha identifies four foundations for mindfulness.

1.  Body (kaya)

2.  Feeling (vedana)

3. Mind (cita)

4. Mental contents

1. Body:

            The Buddha enumerates the body into the following bases for the meditative development of Mindfulness.

1.1. Breathing

1.2. Posture

1.3. Clear comprehending

1.4. Reflection on repulsion of the body

1.5. Reflection on material elements

1.6. Cemetery contem[lation

2. Feeling:

            The feeling is divided into three.

2.1. Pleasant feeling

2.2. Unpleasant feeling

2.3. Neutral

3. Mind:

3.1 Mind only

4. Mental contents

4.1. The Hindrances

4.2. The Aggregates

4.3. The Sense bases

4.4. The Enlightenment factors.

4.5. The Four Noble Truths

 4.1.1. The Hindrances

In Buddhism, the fire hindrances are negative mental states that impede success with meditation and lead away from enlightenment. These stages are:- Sensual desire Anger or ill will Sloth Restlessness or worries Doubt

4.1.2. The Aggregates Form or matter (Rupa) Sensations or feeling (Vedana) Perception or conception (sanna) Mental formation (Sankhara) Consciousness (Rinnana)

4.1.3. Sense bases

In Buddhism there are six internal sense-bases also know as organs doors or roots, thus there are six internal pairs of senses bases. Eye and visible-object Ear and sound Nose and odor Tongue and taste Body and touch Mind and mental object

4.1.4. The Enlightenment factors Mindfulness Investigation Energy Joy or rapture Tranquility or relaxations Concentration Equanimity

4.1.5. The Four Noble Truths Suffering Origin of suffering Cessation of suffering Path leading to the cessation of suffering (noble 8 fold path)

“Putting what we know into practice and that practice will get you know more.”